Star Wars: Episode VIII is coming in May 2017


Star Wars: Episode VIII Star Wars: Episode VIIThe second movie from the new trilogy of the space saga Star Wars: Episode VIII will be released on 26th of May 2017. This is only one year and a half from the premiere of the first movie – The Force Awaken, which is scheduled for December 18th this year.

Star Wars: Episode VIII team

All information is coming from the official Star Wars website, quoting Walt Disney’s CEO Bob Iger. The report also give us more details about Star Wars: Episode VIII. Ryan Johnson will write and direct the second movie from the new trilogy. He was directed other Hollywood productions like “Loop” and “The Brothers Bloom”.

Johnsons’s team for Star Wars: Episode VIII will also include Kathleen Kennedy and Ram Bergman, producers of “Loop”. The director of the first movie from the space saga J.J. Abrams will be an executive producer.

The choice for Ryan Johnson was rumored for couple of months, but now it was officially confirmed.

Rogue One movie

Between Star Wars: Episode VIII and VII in 16th of December 2016 we will see a special big-screen movie called Star Wars: Rogue One. It will explore and develop more the characters from the saga.

“Rogue One will be directed by Gareth Edwards (Monsters, Godzilla) and written by Oscar nominee Chris Weitz (Cinderella, About a Boy, Antz). The first actress cast is Felicity Jones from The Theory of Everything and it is the only one confirmed for the moment.

Tight schedule

The small interval between Star Was: Episode VIII and VII is interesting. Especially because some problems with the shooting of the first one from the new trilogy. The Force Awaken was disrupted by an injury of one of the main actors – Harrison Ford. In June last year he fall during the scenes and allegedly broke his ankle.

Nevertheless, Disney committed to the release date of the Episode VII and it didn’t reschedule the premiere of the movie.

Also the previous six movies from the space saga has interval of three years between releases. The first trilogy was premiered in 1977, 1980 and 1983 accordingly for “Episode IV: A new hope”, “Episode V: Empire strikes back” and “Episode VI: The return of the Jedi”.

The similar schedule was for the second trilogy, which was released in 1999 to 2005.

Image Credit:

Leave a Reply